his eye is on the sparrow

Today is a day I have faced bravely, as well as yesterday.

But because He lives, I can face tomorrow.

Tomorrow, when my phone rings or my door is knocked upon, I don’t know who or what will be on the other side.

But because He lives, I can face tomorrow.

Tomorrow, when I see my mom – when I see the tears on her face, whether in thankfulness or despair – my stomach will drop to the floor.

But because He lives, I can face tomorrow.

Tomorrow, I may hear the words, “Baby, I’m being sent away and I have 2 weeks to get everything together – I need your help.”

But because He lives, I can face tomorrow.

Because He lives, I can face anything. Because He lives, I will trust Him more than I ever have before. Because He lives, I can say, “I will help you,” instead of “I told you so.” Because He lives, I can believe that even though my mother or father may abandon me, He will never leave me. Because He lives, I will never be alone. Because He lives, this world can never take hope away from me. Because He lives, I can handle the stress, the chores, the to-do lists, the mayhem. Because He lives, I have room to breathe. Because He lives, I know that right now He is praying for me even as I have no words to pray for myself or for my mom. Because He lives, I know that He’s seen this day coming for a long time and nothing comes as a surprise to Him. Because He lives, there is a peace that goes beyond all understanding, though my heart and flesh may fail.

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow. Because He lives, all fear is gone. Because I know He holds the future, and life is worth the living, just because He lives.”

If I want to be counted righteous, I will live by faith and I will not shrink back when life gets hard. When I can’t see what He’s doing. When I don’t know where He’ll take her. Yes, she has been the one to raise me, the only blood family I’ve ever known – but she is and has always been HIS first. And He will not let her fall into the wrong hands. God, we are Yours.

“I’ve walked the valley of death’s shadow, so deep and dark that I could barely breathe. I’ve had to let go of more than I could bear and I’ve questioned everything I believe. And still even here in this great darkness, a comfort and a hope come breaking through, as I can say in life or death – God, we belong to you!”  Amen. Let it be so.

Leave a Reply

