i don’t know any tricks, but i’m feelin 26?

Wow, what a month. I didn’t mean to take such a hiatus, but life totally gets the blame here. She took me, made me happy, gave me rest, warmed my heart, kicked me in the crotch, said sorry about that, made me laugh and sent me on my way.

I could tell many stories about all of that, but I figure the best way to not bore you to death is to use point form, complete with bold headers and cutesy pictures. Are ya ready? Vamonos!

1. Second Honeymoons Are So Worth It

We did it. We drove the crap out of that road, stayed the crap out of that castle, visited the crap out of our Calgary friends, slept the crap out of our fluffy King-sized beds I never wanted to leave, pictured the crap out of our new camera, and we honeyed. the crap. outta that moon.

Image


Image

Image
IMG_1243

IMG_1258

IMG_1306

IMG_1324

IMG_1327

IMG_1353

IMG_1393

2. I’m Kinda Full Of It

You see the title of the post I wrote before this one? “Aging with Grace,” I called it. Well, apparently, I need to go back and do my homework because two weeks ago, I turned one year older and I’ve been nothin’ but trouble ever since.

Image

3. There are 6 more days until Halloween.

2013-10-09 16.31.32 2013-10-09 16.31.39 2013-10-09 16.34.09

Which essentially means that I only have 5 more days to change Walter’s mind about this. If you take note of the body language, he’s clearly not happy. In fact, you’d think you had truly burdened him with the weight of the world and it physically restrains him from being able to move. The only thing he can do is give you dead eyes that speak of betrayal.But since we are good parents, we’ve decided upon the art of trickery. We sprinkled this costume with catnip and let it lay among Walter’s toys and mutilated bits of furniture. It won’t be long now. The twain SHALL meet and it will be glorious.

4. Eva Sofia is one of the most precious things that has ever happened to me.

If you don’t remember her, have a look at this and read the story of how I was given the special privilege of bringing her into the world 7ish weeks ago.

This past Thanksgiving weekend, she came to see me and everything was wonderful. Mom and Dad looked pretty well rested and happy and in love with their girly. They let me take a few family photos that I am just in love with…2013-10-14 08.30.34

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2013-10-14 08.31.00

 

 

 

 

 
2013-10-14 08.31.12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
My heart is officially a puddle on the floor.

5. My mom is a badass.

2013-07-12 07.55.29

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aaaaaaand this is all you need to know that.


6.  Money can make Weddings Beautiful and
Marriage Difficult.

It’s been a long, hard week, to be honest. On my wedding day 13 months ago, when everything was smiles and kisses and flowers and laughter, I didn’t know there would be weeks like this. Weeks where it feels like I’ve been looking for work forever. Weeks where it feels like I’m not the right person to live down here, where I don’t fit in, where I don’t seem to meet the standards just by being myself. (I have been blessed enough to interview with LUSH this week and get a call-back for a 2nd interview right away, but now I’m at the waiting stage and it is trying to kill me.) Weeks where Steve and I forget that we are partners, allies, in this together. Thoughts get thought, words get said, actions are made, and sometimes you worry that it can’t be fixed. Yesterday, I thought, Oh God…he’s finally had enough of me…one day, I’m going to be a lonely old woman – nope, not even with cats to surround me! – and I’m going to look back on this week and say, “Yes. That was the beginning of the end. How did I not see it?”

Ever worry that it might be ruined?

Yeah, but it’s not. Not today. Not this week, not this month and I’m banking on not this year.

And does it make you wanna cry?

Yes, and I do. And I pray and I fight and I kiss and I make-up and I fall in love again.

Where there is desire, there is gonna be a flame,
Where there is a flame, someone’s bound to get burned,
But just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die
,
You’ve gotta get up and try, try, try.

P!nk, my girl, you have created the marriage anthem and I don’t care what anyone says about that.

The truth is, there will probably always be a reason to be upset. At your partner, at life, at yourself. I have been all three this week. But it will drain your life, your joy away, and change nothing. So I am determined more than ever to do that whole thing where I stop believing the lies are true and the truth is too good to be true.

I am loved and so is he and we will carry ever on.

7. HOW IS BREAKING BAD SO AMAZING?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!???????

breaking bad

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like. I just. Can’t.

We are in the early stages of season 5, and I am in the early stages of having a heart attack. These characters have completely sucked us into their world — and miraculously, I have continued on through all of my internetting and NOT YET BEEN SPOILED BY HOW IT ENDS.

Like, the other day, I was at the LUSH hiring fair, and all I overheard another applicant say was, “Breaking Bad Finale,” and I interrupted him, saying, “LALALALALALALALALALALA NOT LISTENING DO NOT SAY ANOTHER WORD PLEASE.” And he was like, “Um, I’ve actually never watched the show, it’s just all my friends are talking about and I don’t know why.” And I was like,

“Oh.”

That’s what Breaking Bad has done to me. It makes me LALALALALALA at complete strangers.

8. I Now Know Why People Make Fun Of Me For Being Mexican

HAPPY WEEKEND!!!!! XOXOXO

4 thoughts on “i don’t know any tricks, but i’m feelin 26?

  1. I TRIPLE DARE YOU TO DO THAT VERY FIRST RICO SUAVE MOVE, VIDEO IT, AND PUT IT ON FACEBOOK. You know. Because the world needs to see that awesomeness.
    Also I can’t believe you’re on the Breaking Bad bandwagon. *le sigh. Now I am alone in having no idea why the world is gaga.
    And I love, love, love this blog. Especially the part about learning not to believe the lies. You go lady! You have no idea how awesome you are and it’s time you found out. :-* ❤

  2. You know, somehow I think one Rico Suave in 1990 was and is all this world can handle! 😉

    Two months ago, I was NOT into Breaking Bad at all. I honestly watched the first two episodes to see what all the fuss was about, but I was pretty skeptical.
    And that’s all it took. Two episodes. I wanted to know what was going to happen to these people because they made me care. It’s a low budget show with very little special effects and next to no boobies. Occasional violence, sure, but not gratuitous. People are going crazy over this because each person is written in such a way that they are totally relatable to “normal” people such as ourselves. And it’s an amazing character study to show you can totally start out doing something bad with good intentions, for the good of your family, and how easily but sneakily it becomes corrupted…and before you know it, you’re a totally different person.

    And girl, if I get hired at LUSH, and that guy gets hired at LUSH, I will so hook that up.

  3. Oh my gosh. Breaking Bad. It’s going to suck me in one day. First off – YOU love it. (evil show sucked little Carly in!) Second off – HEATHER loves it. LIterally it was one of her favorite shows (besides Homeland) and several times I’ve been over there with her and Dave watching the “aftershow” for it… haha. My two twinsies love it. There is a problem here. And that problem is me not having seen it. Yipes.
    A guy who likes hippie lotion, soap, shampoo and deodorant?? SIGN ME UP!!!! 😉
    One more thing… I thought of you when I read this a few days ago so… here is a link (that would be on Facebook if I wasn’t at work): http://rachelheldevans.com/blog/10-reality-checks-marriage#comments

Leave a Reply

