Blessed Are the Little Bloggers, For They Shall Be Awarded

Guys…my best friend nominated me for a Blog Award. ME. Because she’s my BEST FRIEND.

Also, because I have less than 500 followers, and that’s how this whole award nomination thing works.

Me and my devoted followers.

But seriously, I’m very honoured. Thanks so much, Laurie! Time for *our interview.*

1. How long have you been blogging?

Oh man. I have a long, messy history with blogging. I started my first, a dearly departed Xanga, when I was 16 (2004). It was a disaster. I used it to pour out all my angsty, unrequited feelings towards a boy. This house of poorly constructed valentine cards came crashing down when said boy discovered the blog, and also his super conservative parents. Needless to say, we all had a freak-out and I deleted the blog. I was not okay with being an online presence for quite some time, only joining Facebook in 2008 because I wanted to stalk catch up with people I hadn’t talked to in a long time. Facebook notes were my friend for quite awhile, and that led to a Blogspot site that I don’t even remember the URL of, and then in December 2010, I joined WordPress.

2. What inspired you to start your blog?

I grew up as an only child in a single-parent home, and I was homeschooled for a good portion of that time. I’m convinced that I tell stories because A.) I like attention, and B.) because I just need someone to know what’s going on in my head at all times. What if I’m a crazy person and I just don’t know it? What if this thing I’m obsessing about is actually completely normal and I don’t need to worry? People are the trampoline I bounce my thoughts off of, and writing about life is my form of therapy, especially if someone else out there can convince me that I’m not crazy OR alone in what I’m feeling and thinking. When that happens, it feels really good.

3. What is your favourite colour?

I am obsessed with purple and green, but mostly purple. I have a purple frying pan and I almost never want to use it because it’s so pretty, but then I want to use it because I’m lazy and it’s the easiest to wash. It’s a problem. Also, today, I saw a purple bass guitar for only $200 and I nearly died. If I didn’t already know how to play bass, I would learn it just so I could have the purple, shiny thing.

4. What is your all-time favourite movie?

Ohhhh, WHAT. I cannot pick just one. This question is the worst. I’m quite passionate about movies, as my 134 “movie likes” listed on Facebook will allude to. Anything that makes me feel something, think about something, learn something new, gives me an eargasm, or come away with a different perspective than I had before. I think American History X and Gravity and Cold Mountain cover all those categories. And basically anyΒ Disney movie. Anything epic and fantasmic. I’m also obsessed with any post-apocalyptic or end-of-the-world disaster/survival story – no matter how cheesy – because I grew up being told that I was going to have to live (or die horribly) through all of that. If anything, those films make me come away feeling grateful that I’m NOT having to survive the Apocalypse right meow.

5. When do you typically work on your blog?

Whenever I’m at home. I’ve only ever written two posts on my phone, and it’s pretty exhausting. I like adding gifs and pictures to accentuate my words (caaaaaaaan ya tell?)), so my computer makes that a lot easier. And since I’ve been drastically unemployed for some time now, I’ve been blogging more than ever. Mostly just to process all the emotions that I have pertaining to being newly married, in a new city, with no job. Like I said, free therapy. A gift from the Internet gods.

6. Coffee or tea or neither?

I only drink coffee if it’s got sugary sweetness, steamed milk, and cinnamon on top. So basically, a Cinnamon Dolce Latte from Starbucks. In the summer, I do enjoy the occasional Iced Capp from Tim Hortons. (Hello World! I am Canada!) And I’ll drink pretty much any kind of tea if it’s offered to me. On my own, I’m more of a juice or water or Dr. Pepper kind of gal. Oh, and one of my friends gave me a precious canister labeled Emergency Tea Stash with the sidebar Don’t Forget To Be Awesome to help me cope with life. I like it a lot.

7. Is writing a career or hobby for you?

Tricky question. Right now, writing is definitely just a hobby for me. More like a necessity, really, as you might have gathered by now. (#ineedhelp) I plan on writing a memoir that describes what it was like to grow up the way I did, and being an illegal immigrant for 13 years afterwards. Because hello writing fodder. But at the same time, I’m not sure if I want writing to turn into a job or the pressure of a deadline. I’d rather just be creative and flowy at this point.

Just like this little wind sock.

8. What do you love most in this world?

a.) God b.) my husband and family c.) the people who have stuck with me this long d.) my unborn children e.) music f.) my cat (placing the letter F before this statement works out really well.) g.) cupcakes h.) the ocean i.) the feeling of rubbing tissue paper between my fingers until it disintegrates j.) baby ballerinas k.) hugs l.) sunshine m.) unexpected adventure o.) the ukulele p.) Jennifer Lawrence q.) concerts r.) pizza s.) getting my hair done t.) newborn babies u.) mini Coopers v.) Funko dolls w.) Mexican garb x.) butterflies y.) reading z.) blue 5 gum.

But WAIT. There’s MORE.

Just…later.

9. Can you share something that you have learned recently?

Yes. That married life is even harder and BETTER than I imagined. #AgentButton4Ever

Image

10. Where is your favourite place to shop online?

I hardly ever shop online. I hardly ever shop at all. But when I do, I love Think Geek. I love finding nerdy things that our house doesn’t need but that we would surely love. My next purchase wants to be the Tauntaun sleeping bag cause campin’ season is a-comin’!

11. What is your biggest pet peeve?

What I want to know is, where did the phrase pet peeve come from? Why does that apply to things we can’t stand? But I definitely can’t handle misunderstanding someone or being misunderstood by someone. Or hypocrites. Or people cracking their knuckles.

Aaaaaaaaaannnnndddd…..

I will keep this award in high regard on this, my 101st blog post. Thanks for reading!

I nominate Writer B Is Me, and She Drives a Vegetable Car. xox

6 thoughts on “Blessed Are the Little Bloggers, For They Shall Be Awarded

  1. Oh my GOSH! I’m reading along, learning about my new sister wife, and WHAM! You nominated me! wow – that’s SO sweet! I’m flattered. thank you so much! (and totally honored to be on the same list as She Drives A Vegetable Car) WOOP!

    Okay, love your answers, and wanted to tell you 1) love your answer to what inspired you to start a blog, and 2) I would totally sleep in that sleeping bag!

    Okay, going to snoop around the rest of your blog. xoxo

    • WHAM! You got it, sister wife! I know something that needs recognition when I see it. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to read yours and Angelle’s answers!

      Thanks so much for enjoying my blog so far. I thought I portrayed myself as a bit of a crazy person, but it seems that I’ll fit in quite well here. πŸ˜‰

      And I want that sleeping bag so bad. You have nooooooo idea. Well, maybe you do. Snoop away! xoxo

    • Thank you so much! πŸ™‚ I’m glad this made a good introduction for you.

      A lot of people seem to have a hate-on for the ukulele, and unjustly so! Just because a lot of them might be used by obnoxious, better-than-thou cutesy hipsters does NOT mean that they’re automatically to be shunned by the rest of us. One of my FAVE songs ever is a mash-up of Somewhere Over the Rainbow & What a Wonderful World by a Hawaiian guy that I can’t remember the name of, and he does it all on uke. πŸ™‚

      I look forward to getting to know you better!

Leave a Reply

