Liar, Liar. (Family Matters Part 3)

Part 1 and Part 2 are here for you.

“What have you been told about me?”

I had no idea how loaded of a question this was, coming from her side of the story. For a few more days, hours, I would be on Cloud 9, reveling in the joy that I had found my sister at last. I was a child at the county fair for the first time, wide-eyed and wondrous, having no idea that I was about to watch my balloon float aimlessly into the abyss while I retched on the pavement.

With sparkly eyes, I typed furiously : “I mean, not much, just that my dad and my mom were close friends, and mom really wanted a baby, so she asked dad to try to give her one. They knew it would be wrong, but they decided to try it one time, and luckily, it worked. And then we moved away when I was really little so I never actually got to meet any of you. I’m so happy I found you!”

There was silence on the other end for awhile. I waited anxiously where I was house-sitting…playing with the dog, coming back to the computer. Channeling nervous energy into Bugle consumption, back to the computer. Completely alone with 10,000 of my thoughts rushing through me at once.

Where is she? Did I say something wrong? She’s probably just eating lunch too. What if she hates me? She’s a mom of 3 girls, she’s busy, calm your shit. What if everything is about to change?

Finally! A message.

Cassie: I know a very different story, and I’m hesitant to tell you because I don’t want to hurt you or jeopardize our relationship so quickly.

Me: I want to know the truth. Please tell me whenever you can.

An hour later, the crushing pressure that had been building inside my chest all morning spilled out in sobs and muffled curses. I was glad to be alone, although the dog was concerned. As the pup licked my tears away, I felt like she was the only one I trusted in the world.

How could my mother have done this to me, to US? How could she have lied about this for nearly 20 years to my face?

An affair. Of course it was. Nobody just “has a married guy friend who decided to give the gift of a baby to a desperate single woman.”

You ignorant homeschooled hick.

It got worse. Oh, it got worse.

My dad had been a pastor, his wife the church office manager, his mistress the worship leader.

For three years. Before I was even thought of.

When mom got pregnant, she told everyone that she’d “finally” decided to go to the sperm bank cause, after all, she wasn’t gettin’ any younger! The church, friends and family rejoiced.

Cassie had been ecstatic. Mom was like an adopted aunt to her, and they would go on lunch-and-movie dates all the time. When I was born, Cassie babysat me multiple times. SHE F***ING BABYSAT ME, AND SHE HAD NO F***ING CLUE THAT I WAS HER BABY SISTER.

Oh, but our dad. He knew. He probably looked out into his congregation every Sunday and saw his dimply, brown-eyed bastard smiling right back at him.

A little over a year later, his wife finally figured it out.

Everything blew up, within his family, within his church – so my mom took off with me and little else. She’s been on the run ever since.

All those years I never knew why we couldn’t settle down, why we were always moving, why she never had time or desire to play with me as I grew bigger.

Now everything made sense. She had been in love with him, and every time she looked at me, she was reminded of the face she would probably never see again.

I will admit that, at first, most of my anger was self-righteous. I was already sick and tired of hearing about pastors’ infidelities, and now my parents were just another statistic, with seemingly no guilt – only owning up to their secret when they were caught. Yeah, they sound like real Christians to me. Hypocrites; nothing worse than a couple of those.

But then I realized something: nobody is perfect. Nobody is immune to loneliness or desperation or even rationalization when something feels so right it can’t be wrong. Sure, we hold Christians to a higher standard and can be eager to kick them when they fall off the pedestal. But maybe they were never meant to be put on a pedestal in the first place.

Once my high horse became more of a pony, I only felt sadness and hurt for everyone who experienced the ripple effect. My sister was 14 when she learned of the betrayal of those closest to her; it changed her, sent her down a path that would do more harm than good. I’m thankful that she was able to work through her (rightful) emotions and become the counselor for young people that she is today.
My dad’s wife endured the betrayal, the anger, the pain – and she stayed. She’s still with my dad to this day. I can’t speak specifically to the tenderness of their current relationship, but she keeps showing up. I know nothing of my brothers.

Little did I know, at that point, that this chapter of my life was not closed, even though I had made peace with everything – even to the point where I forgave my mom in the silence by never bringing up her past that was now known.

A year later, I would become driven by the need to find my dad and to speak to him for myself. And what do you do when all you have is his name, the field he works in, and a sister not willing to share more?

You hire a hacker, that’s what.

To be continued…

Β Skyfall (Family Matters Part 4)

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Liar, Liar. (Family Matters Part 3)

  1. Oh Oh Oh I LOVE the last line of this story!!!! Squeee!
    Waiting to hear the next part.
    Also: That’s a tough reality to be smacked with. I know that feeling of having to come to terms with the fact that most of what you believe about your life is actually a lie :-/ At least, it feels that way when you learn it at a young age.
    So glad Laurie sent me over here!

    • Aww thank you! I’m glad you came over too. πŸ™‚ I remember reading the story about your dad and thinking “yeah, ALMOST been there.” ❀
      And I was hoping you would love that line! I crafted it just for you. I mean, it's true what I did, but I thought of you when I wrote it. =D

  2. I hope you’re busy with the next part because I’m on the edge of my freakin’ seat over here! WOW. I’m sort of speechless. What a complicated situation for everyone. I found the part where you go from your high horse to a pony particularly fascinating. Only someone with a profound grasp on the human condition can be capable of such empathetic understanding of others decisions/behavior. Go you. πŸ™‚

    • Complicated is right! And it doesn’t get any better for awhile! I’m starting the next part tomorrow! πŸ™‚
      Breaking myself down to that pony was one of the hardest things ever. It helped once I started making my own (not nearly as catastrophic) mistakes in relationships. Plus, I was brought up with to instantly feel a guilty conscience, which makes more sense in retrospect. Since I know you read Glennon Melton, I can quote her here: “Be confident because you are a child of God; be humble because everyone else is too.” πŸ™‚

    • I’m sorry I did too. But I had to know, you know? Ignorance is not always bliss. The sooner I knew, the sooner I could deal with it and heal. Plus this story is definitely NOT over! Haha. I’m trying to stay brave, so thank you. πŸ™‚

  3. Ahhh! I want to know more right now! πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry that all happened and all of the lies. I can relate on some levels. It’s good that you are so strong and able to come to terms with everything and now share it with the world. Can’t wait to read more.

  4. Oh, dear God. What a horrible way to learn of the lies you were told. I can’t imagine what this must have been like for you, but I almost felt it in the emotion of your writing. It takes a lot of courage to share something so incredibly personal. You have done it so well.

    My father was a minister, and I grew up in the church. I think that you summed up Christians rather soundly.

    • Thank you so much, my SW!

      Everything I’ve experienced after growing up in the church has been quite the paradigm shift. Pastors were seen as this sort of holy, infallible messenger of God, so anytime that they revealed to us “lay people” that they made mistakes too, the disillusionment felt that much stronger, I guess. I think it would be a lot healthier if we just saw people as people, all capable of the same crap, and all in need of the same grace! Not that it totally excuses the damage caused by these mistakes, though. It’s a weird line to walk on! πŸ™‚

      • Growing up in the house of a pastor, one gets to see the *real* side of them. They make mistakes…lots of them…some of them huge, but at the end of the day, they’re human. I sometimes wanted to scream at people that my dad wasn’t perfect. If only they could see…but then, did I really want that?

  5. Pingback: Skyfall | she's a butterfly, pretty as a crimson sky, nothing's ever gonna bring her down.

  6. Pingback: And God Said, “Let There Be Facebook.” (Family Matters Part 2) | she's a butterfly, pretty as a crimson sky, nothing's ever gonna bring her down.

  7. Pingback: Lost & Found (Family Matters Part 5) | she's a butterfly, pretty as a crimson sky, nothing's ever gonna bring her down.

Leave a Reply

